The Djuma-mosque is situated in the center of Derbent’s old part. It is a part of an architectural ensemble of the ancient town. The group of buildings consists of the main mosque, a madrasah and some houses where religious leaders live.
Building of the mosque is dated to 115th year of Hijra (or 733-734). Djuma-mosque was the biggest building in town. Its size was quite impressive for those times. Its length from West to East was 68 m and 28 m from South to North. The height of the cupola is 17 m. And the yard was about 2475 m².
There are three naves in the inside of the mosque. The width of central nave is 6.3 m, side naves are 4 m wide. The naves are separated by square columns 97 to 97 cm wide, that have profiled capitals. The columns are connected by lancet arches.
Djuma-mosque was rebuilt many times during its centuries-long history. An inscription at the entrance says that the building was repaired after an earthquake in 770th year of Hijra by Tajjudin, a builder from Baku.
Djuma-mosque was shut down in 1930-s, at that times an anti-religious campaign was carried on in the whole country. But unlike other religious objects this mosque had more cynical destiny. In 1938-1943 it was in the jurisdiction of USSR’s secret police department (NKVD) and served as a municipal prison with all the common attributes.
In 1943 (in the midst of the Great Patriotic war) there was a decree issued in Moscow passing the mosque back to religious leaders who could from that time on turn it to a place of worship again.