The Fort along the Liede is one of the four fortresses that were built after the reclamation of lake Haarlemmermeer. On the northern part of the fort’s grounds there is a casemate carrying the Mercury emblem of the Corps of Engineers and the year 1914.
The Fort along the Liede served as a defence for the ring canal and dike of the Haarlemmermeer Polder and the Spaarnwouderweg/Schipholweg roads. The fortress was built in the years 1846 - 1848 as part of a forerunner to the Defence Line of Amsterdam, whose defences were known as 'Posten van Krayenhoff’ (Krayenhoff Posts).
The fort is now used for storage and not open to the public.