Switzerland is an alpine nation that is officially known as the Swiss Confederation. This landlocked country situated in the Central Europe has about 7.7 million people living in its land and it has an area of about 41,285 square kilometers.

This federal republic has twenty-six states and these states are referred to as cantons. Bern is the capital of Switzerland and it is also the seat of the federal authorities. Zurich is the largest city in this nation.

The economic centers of Switzerland are Zurich and Geneva. Switzerland is considered to be one of the world’s richest countries, in terms of GDP per capita. Both the economic centers are considered to have the highest quality of life worldwide.

Switzerland is basically a nation where the people speak different languages and the four national languages of the nation are Italian, French, German and Romansh.

The economy of the country is not just stable but it is also modern. In fact, Switzerland is considered to one of the world’s most capitalist economies. There is no chief religion in the country but many people are members of the official churches.

The majority of the populations are followers of Christianity with about more than 40% of the people go to catholic churches.

  • 9

    Abbey of Saint Gall

    The Abbey of Saint Gall is a Roman Catholic religious complex in the city of St. Gallen in Switzerland of a dissolved abbey (747-1805). The Carolingian-era monastery has existed since 719 and became an independent principality between 9th and 13th centuries, and was for many centuries one of the chief Benedictine abbeys in Europe.

  • 3

    Baltschieder Glacier

    The Baltschiedergletscher consists of two independent parts of a dissociated glacier north of Visp at the end of the valley called Baltschiedertal. The impressing "Aussere Baltschiedergletscher" is embedded between the magnificent mountains Bietschhorn, Aelwer Rigg, Breitlauihorn and Jagihorn.

  • 6


    The Bietschhorn (3,934 m) is a mountain in canton Wallis to the south of the Bernese Alps in Switzerland. The northeast and southern slopes of the mountain are part of the Jungfrau-Aletsch Protected Area (formerly Jungfrau-Aletsch-Bietschhorn) listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site that also includes the Jungfrau and the Aletsch Glacier.

  • 7

    Castelgrande, Bellinzona

    The site of the Castelgrande has been fortified since at least the late 1st century BC and until the 13th century it was the only fortification in Bellinzona. During its history the castle has been known as the stronghold (before the 13th century), the Old Castle in the 14–15th centuries, Un Castle after 1506 and Saint Michael's Castle from 1818.

  • 10

    La Chaux-de-Fonds

    La Chaux-de-Fonds is a Swiss city of the district of La Chaux-de-Fonds in the canton of Neuchatel. It is located in the Jura mountains at an altitude of 1000 m, a few kilometres south of the French border.

  • 10

    Le Locle

    It is situated in the Jura Mountains, a few kilometers from the city of La Chaux-de-Fonds. It is the third smallest city in Switzerland (in Switzerland a place needs more than 10,000 inhabitants to be considered a city).

  • 10

    Monte San Giorgio

    Monte San Giorgio is a wooded mountain (1,097 m above sea level) of the Lugano Prealps, overlooking Lake Lugano in Switzerland. It lies in the southern part of the canton of Ticino, between the municipalities of Brusino Arsizio, Riva San Vitale and Meride. Monte San Giorgio became a UNESCO World Heritage Sites in 2003.

  • 5

    Montebello, Bellinzona

    Montebello Castle (known as the Small, New or Middle Castle in the 15th century, as Schwyz Castle from 1506 and St. Martin's Castle after 1818) is located to the east of the town center. It was built before 1313 for the pro-Imperial Rusca family, who occupied the castle following the Visconti victory and occupation of the Castelgrande.

  • 10

    Oberaletsch Glacier

    The Oberaletsch Glacier is a valley glacier on the south side of the Bernese Alps, in the canton of Valais. It has a length of 9 km (5.6 mi) with an average width of just under 1 km (0.62 mi) and an area of about 22 km2 (8.5 sq mi).

  • 10

    Old City of Bern

    The Old City of Bern is the medieval city center of Bern, Switzerland. Built on a narrow hill surrounded on three sides by the Aare River, its compact layout has remained essentially unchanged since its construction during the 12th to the 15th century.

  • 3

    Sasso Corbaro, Bellinzona

    Sasso Corbaro, known as Unterwalden Castle after 1506 and Saint Barbara's Castle after 1818, is about 600m south-west of town on a rocky hill. Unlike the other two castles Sasso Corbaro is not integrated into the city walls.

  • 10

    Torre Castle, San Vittore

    The Torre Castle stands above the village of San Vittore in the district of Moesa in the Swiss canton of Graubunden. The name of the fortress comes from the lying beneath the Burgdorf part Pala.