Tunisia is a country that lies in the north of Africa. On the southeast of the country there is Libya and on the west of Tunisia there is Algeria. Tunisia is situated on the south of Sardinia and on the southwest of Sicily. The size of the country is about 165,000 square kilometers and it has a population of about 10,300,000 people. The capital city of the country is Tunis. Tunisia is the smallest country that is located along the Atlas mountain range and it is the northernmost nation in Africa. The Sahara Desert constituent about 40% of the country of Tunisia and the remaining portion of the country consists of coastline and fertile soil.

Almost all the people in Tunisia are followers of Islam and there are also some people who follow Christianity. There are about 25,000 Christians in the country and most of them are Roman Catholics. The third largest religion in the nation is Judaism. Even though the country is small, but it has diverse climate and geography. The temperature in the north of the country is temperate in nature. The southern part of the nation is desert and the north of Tunisia is basically mountainous in nature.

The people from Tunisia are called Tunisians.

  • 10

    Amphitheatre, El Jem

    El Djem is famous for its amphitheater, often incorrectly called a Colosseum (roughly translated from Latin as 'that thing by the Colossus'), which is capable of seating 35,000 spectators. Only the Flavian Amphitheater in Rome (about 50,000 spectators) and the ruined theatre of Capua are larger.

  • 10


    The city of Carthage is a city in Tunisia that was once the center of the ancient Carthaginian civilization. The city developed from a Phoenician colony of the 1st millennium BC into the capital of an ancient empire.

  • 10

    Dougga (Thugga)

    Dougga or Thugga is an ancient Roman city in northern Tunisia, included in a 65 hectare archaeological site. UNESCO qualified Dougga as a World Heritage Site in 1997.

  • 1

    Ichkeul National Park

    Ichkeul National Park. Lake Ichkeul is the last great freshwater lake of a chain that once stretched the length of North Africa.

  • 10


    Kairouan, also known as Kirwan or al-Qayrawan, is the capital of the Kairouan Governorate in Tunisia. It is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The city was founded by the Arabs around 670.

  • 8


    Kerkouane is a Punic city in northeastern Tunisia, near Cape Bon. This Phoenician city was probably abandoned during the First Punic War (c. 250 B.C.), and as a result was not rebuilt by the Romans. It had existed for almost 400 years.

  • 10

    Mosque of the Barber (Mausoleum of Sidi Sahab), Kairouan

    Northwest of the medina is this 17th-century place tiled in luminescent colours and known as the 'barber mosque', because it contains the mausoleum of one of the Prophet's companions, Abu Zama el-Belaoui, who used to carry around three hairs from the Prophet's beard.