Turkmenistan is basically a nation that is situated in the central Asia. This Turkic nation used to be a part of the republic of the Soviet Union. On the west of Turkmenistan, the country is bordered by the Caspian Sea, on its northwest it share border with Kazakhstan, on its northeast it is bordered by Uzbekistan, it has Iran on the southwest and Afghanistan on the southeast. The term ‘Turkmenistan’ means ‘land of the Turkmen’ in Persian. Ashgabat is the capital city of this country and it means the City of Arsaces. Turkmenistan is one among the world’s driest deserts. The Karakum Desert covers about 4/5th of the country.

Turkmenistan is the 52nd largest country in the world with an area of about 488,100 square kilometers. This country is a little smaller than Spain in size. The majority of the people living in Turkmenistan are Turkmens but there are also people of other origins like Russians, Uzbeks, Armenians, Ukrainians, Balochis, Azeris, Tatars and Kazakhs. While Russian is a language that many people communicate in this country, the official language of Turkmenistan is Turkmen. About seventy-two percent of the population can speak in Turkmen and about twelve percent of the people can speak in Russian.

  • 9

    Ancient Merv (Merv)

    Merv was a major oasis-city in Central Asia, on the historical Silk Road, located near today's Mary in Turkmenistan.

  • 7


    Konye-Urgench, also known as Kunya-Urgench, Old Urgench or Urganj, is a municipality of about 30,000 inhabitants in north Turkmenistan, just south from its border with Uzbekistan. It is the site of the ancient town of Urgench, which contains the ruins of the capital of Khwarezm, a part of the Achaemenid Empire.

  • 10


    Nisa was an ancient city, located near modern-day Bagir village, 18 km southwest of Ashgabat, Turkmenistan. Nisa is described by some as the first seat of central government of the Parthians.