The Republic of Yemen is located in the Southeast Asia and it is a nation that lies on the Arabian Peninsula. There are about twenty-three million people living on its land. Yemen is bordered by the Gulf of Aden and the Arabian Sea on its south, Oman on its east, the Red Sea is located on its west and Saudi Arabia is located on its north. The size of the country is about 530,000 square kilometers and there are about two hundred islands in this nation. The largest island in Yemen is Socotra. Yemen also includes the several Red Sea islands like Perim, Kamaran and Hanish Islands. Most of the islands in this country are volcanic in nature.

The geography of the nation has been divided in to four regions and they are the Rub al Khali, the eastern highlands, the coastal plains and the western highlands. Most of the people living in Yemen are followers of Islam and as such, this is the main religion of the country. However, there are some people who are Christians, Jews and Hindu. There are about twenty-one million people in this nation and about 45% of the total population is less than fifteen years of age.

  • 10


    Sanaa is the largest city in Yemen and the centre of Sanaa Governorate. The city is not part of the Governorate, but forms the separate administrative district of "Amanat Al-Asemah".

  • 10


    Shibam is a town in Yemen. With about 7,000 inhabitants, it is the seat of the Shibam District in the Hadhramaut Governorate. It is famous for its mudbrick-made high-rise buildings.

  • 10


    Zabid is one of the oldest towns in Yemen, and has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1993, though, in 2000, the site was placed on the List of World Heritage in Danger.