The castle was built in 1773 but by 1897 was already modified, gaining its current design. The castle wastaken over by the communist regime in 1945. The castle’s inside was radically transformed during the 1980’s and became Nicolae Ceausescu’s summer house.
The castle’s chapel was built during the XIX-th century. It has a classic facade, a gothic entrance and broken arched windows. There is a wooden crucifix inside the church, dating back to 1727.
The castle’s park dates back to 1820. It harbors an artificial lake and an orchard. Most of the trees in the park are over 100 years old.
The park was enlarged and transformed between the years 1847-1857. It was on that occasion that the Schwizer house, the grotto, the tower and the glass house were built.