At a crossing after the village of Havriata, on a country lane that looks a lot like tundra with no trees, only stones, shrub and a constant wind, one can find a historical, well-designed lighthouse of international value. It is located near Cape Gerogompos.
It was manufactured in 1907 by British engineers and played an important role especially during the Second World War. It was destroyed by the German troops at their retirement from the island and was rebuilt in 1947. The altitude of the tower is 13 meters and it has 58-metre radius of light.
It used to belong to the Greek Navy and access to its premises was prohibited but nowadays it operates automatically.