The Panagiotis is a picturesque shipwreck lying in the white sands of an exposed cove on the coast of Zakynthos (Zante), which is among the southernmost of the Ionian Islands of Greece. Navagio ("Shipwreck"), the spot where she lies, is a tourist attraction on the north-western side of the island, with thousands of visitors each year.
She was built in Scotland in 1937 as Saint Bedan and wrecked in 1980. It's been falsely claimed that the ship was carrying contraband cigarettes and being chased by the Greek Navy.
The coaster Panagiotis was built in 1937 at Bowling on the River Clyde as Yard 341 by Scott & Sons, and fitted with a 500 bhp diesel engine made by British Auxiliaries Ltd. When built, she measured 163 feet in length and 26 feet in width. She had a draft of just over 11 feet, and a gross register tonnage of 452.
The Panagiotis changed hands and names since her construction.
- 1937 - Originally named the MV Saint Bedan, she was launched on Thursday, 14 January 1937 for J. & A. Gardner and Co. Ltd. of Glasgow.
- 1964 - She was sold to Greek owners, M. Gigilinis and S. Kakassinas of Thessaloniki and renamed Meropi.
- 1966 - She was sold to N. S. Kalfas and renamed Charis.
- 1975 - She was sold to P. Lisikatos & Company of Piraeus and renamed Panagiotis.
- 1980 - She ran aground on 1 October, on the island of Zakynthos, and was abandoned.