The oldest monument of the fortified town was built in three stages, in the 12th, 13th and 18th centuries. In fact, this belfry was originally a seigniorial prison, transferred to the community in 1230.
38 years later, Saint-Louis ordered the destruction of the tower’s second floor, as well as of the community’s charter of freedom and the town’s seal, as it was refusing to pay a tax on the eighth crusade. One year later, the town, its privileges restored, was able to rebuild the missing part.
As for the last octagonal level, it was built in 1734, after the spire was burnt. The Revolution almost led to this symbol of the Ancien Régime disappearing completely, however pragmatism won the day, as the belfry was the only place in town from which to watch out for enemy boats ! This tradition lasted a long time, with the last watchman plying his trade in 1922.