City Hall and Belfry, Charleroi

The City Hall with a circumference of 240 meters is a stately and impressive building and was inaugurated on 18 October 1936. It was designed by architect Joseph Andre. Three heavy bronze doors give access to a hall of honour covered with marble. Seven high windows, separated by pillars, and the balcony with a decorative attic, make up the façade's grandeur. On either side of the bas-relief, which praises the city's bustle, two groups of statues represent the city's administration (on the right) and the family (on the left). The slate roof is embellished with 13 lucarnes and a campanile. The interior of the city hall has a lavish decoration: it abounds with marble and copperware, panelling and sculptures.

Charleroi Belfry

The belfry is part of the Charleroi City Hall, designed by architect Joseph André in 1936. It is a perfect blend of Classicism and Art Deco. The 70-metre-high belfry can be accessed by climbing 250 stairs and was built using blue and white stone and bricks. It is crowned with a small bronze tower. The last three levels are reserved for the chambers of the 47 bells forming the carillon. Every fifteen minutes it chimes out a few bars of folk songs by Jacques Bertrand, the bard of Charleroi. This belfry is a UNESCO world heritage site.

Closed on public holidays and only open during the morning of 31 December. Guided visits for groups on request. UNESCO "World Heritage of Humanity" site.

  • Piazza Carlo II