On this place was a building used as a grain hall since 1280. Through the years it was destroyed many times, the last time during the First World War. It was rebuilt according to the original style in 1920's.
Since then it has been used to host several museums but after the last restoration in 1999 it is now used for temporary exhibitions and municipal events.
The building has a 35m-high sandy-coloured belfry.
The complex together with other Flemish belfries have been listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1999.