Bialowieza Forest

Bialowieza Forest is one of the last and largest remaining parts of the immense primeval forest that once stretched across the European Plain. The forest is home to 800 European bison, Europe's heaviest land animal. UNESCO’s Man and the Biosphere Programme (MAB) designated the Polish Biosphere Reserve Bialowieza in 1976 and the Belarusian Biosphere Reserve Belovezhskaya Puschcha in 1993. In 2015, the Belarusian Biosphere Reserve occupied the area of 216,200 ha (2,162 km²; 835 sq mi), subdivided into transition, buffer and core zones. The forest has been designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site and an EU Natura 2000 Special Area of Conservation. The World Heritage Committee by its decision of June 2014 approved the extension of the UNESCO World Heritage site "Belovezhskaya Pushcha/Bialowieza Forest, Belarus, Poland", which became "Bialowieza Forest, Belarus, Poland". It straddles the border between Poland (Podlaskie Voivodeship) and Belarus (Brest Voblast and Hrodna Voblast), and is 70 kilometres (43 miles) north of Brest, Belarus and 62 kilometres (39 miles) southeast of Białystok, Poland. The Białowieża Forest World Heritage site covers a total area of 141,885 ha (1,418.85 km²; 547.82 sq mi). Since the border between the two countries runs through the forest, there is a border crossing available for hikers and cyclists.

  • Wilczy Szlak
  • BPN - widok
  • BPN widok
  • Tropina, 226 C.
  • Dolina Hwożnej 5, 226 C.
  • Dolina Hwożnej 3, 226 C.
  • Dolina Hwożnej 2, 225 D.
  • Dolina Hwożnej 1, 225 A/C.
  • Foresta di Bieloweza
  • Czosnek niedżwiedzi, 226 C.
  • Tropina nad Hwoźną
  • Białowieża National Park - Vaccinio myrtili-Pinetum