The fortification was built in 1301 in the second half of the XIII-th. century, then was first mentioned in a diploma. The castle's role in the XVI. century ended, now only ruins. The fort and its estate has been donated to the Csetneki family in 1387 by Zsigmond king. It was owned by Borbala queen. Throughout its history, each value of the pledge, sale, and litigation matters. Outside walls was built in the XV-XVI-th. century. Around 1546 the Turks captured. In 1551 the armed forces of Balassagyarmat recaptured for a short time, but in 1568 there are again the Turkish army was garrisoned in it.