The Jewish Cemetery was established behind the town, over the Tynsky Brook, probably in the early 17th century (the first written document mentioning the cemetery dates from 1636), and was extended in 1888 by adding a new area. With its size of almost twelve thousand square metres it ranks among the largest Jewish cemeteries in the country. The burial-ground, surrounded by a massive stone wall, contains almost 3000 tombstones (the oldest one dates from 1625), including some valuable stones of Baroque and neo-Classical type. A number of important persons are buried here, such as the rabbis Pollak, both father and son.
The cemetery, which is one of the most important and the best maintained Jewish cemeteries in Moravia, is rightly protected as a national cultural monument. As a part of the Jewish Quarter it was placed on the UNESCO List in 2003.