The construction of the present castle had been started on the year 1798 and was finalised in 1808. Partly the walls of the castle are grounded on gothic foundation walls. It is a three-wing building with a charming park surrounding it.
Until 1956 the castle had been the residence of the Batthyany Family (Luise Bathany is buried in the eastern party of the graveyard of the castle). During that time the castle was known as centre of magnificent parties and social events. From 1966 it has been revitalised as a centre for art and antiques. In 1970 Austria's first Museum of Icons was founded in the castle. It has been renovated continuously. Since 1993 the Potzneusiedl Theater Summer performs in the castle. Since 2001 it is the headquarters of the Romanian-Austrian Cultural Institute.