The castle is situated in the north-western part of Liptov. The castle was bilt in 1335-1341. Its construction started with the intention to have a guarding point over the passage across the river Vah and the trade route from the Vah Basin to Orava and further to Poland. During 1431-1434 was in holding of Hussites crew, later was posessed by Hunyady, later Janos, the son of king Mathias Korvin, later by some other owners, last Tokelyis. Destroyed and ruined in 1707 by Austrian Emperor army.