The Greek Catholic Parish Church of the Protection of the Mother of God, Owczary

The Greek Catholic Parish Church of the Protection of the Mother of God in Owczary was built in 1653. The church was renovated repeatedly, and underwent a complete overhaul in the 1980s. At that time they restored the shingles on the walls and tented roofs, and the conservation work as a whole was awarded the Europa Nostra international prize. The interior is covered by polychrome decoration from 1938. The complete church fittings consist of: an C18th baroque iconostasis with a rare icon of Christ in the Tomb, two baroque side altars – the north one with an icon of Madonna with Child (C19th), and the south one with an icon of St. Nicholas (C18th).

  • Cerkiew w Owczarach
  • Cerkiew w Owczarach
  • Owczary
  • Beskid Niski. Cerkiew pw. Opieki Bogarodzicy z 1653 r. w Owczarach
  • Cerkiew w Owczarach
  • Owczary

Country:
Poland
Rating:
1
Latitude:
49,5885703
Longitude:
21,1915445
Wikipedia:
Link