Mount Athos

Mount Athos is a mountain and peninsula in Northern Greece. A World Heritage Site and autonomous polity within the Hellenic Republic under the official name Autonomous Monastic State of the Holy Mountain, Mount Athos is home to 20 stauropegial Eastern Orthodox monasteries under the direct jurisdiction of the Ecumenical Patriarch of Constantinople.

Mount Athos is commonly referred to as the "Holy Mountain" and the entity as the "Athonite State". In the Classical era, while the mountain was called Athos, the peninsula was known as Acte or Akte.

Mount Athos has been inhabited since the ancient times and is known for its nearly 1,800-year continuous Christian presence and its long historical monastic traditions, which date back to at least 800 A.D. and the Byzantine era. Today, over 2,000 monks from Greece and many other Eastern Orthodox countries, such as Romania, Moldova, Bulgaria, Serbia and Russia, live an ascetic life in Athos, isolated from the rest of the world. The Athonite monasteries feature a rich collection of well-preserved artifacts, rare books, ancient documents, and artworks of immense historical value.

Although Mount Athos is technically part of the European Union like the rest of Greece, the status of the Monastic State of the Holy Mountain, and the jurisdiction of the Athonite institutions, were expressly described and ratified upon admission of Greece to the European Community (precursor to the EU). The free movement of people and goods in its territory is prohibited, unless formal permission is granted by the Monastic State's authorities.

  • Κωνσταμονίτου
  • Зографски Манастир, Света Гора Атон, Гърция
  • Άγιο Όρος - Ιερά Μονή Δοχειαρίου _ Mount Athos, Holy Monastery Docheiariou
  • Ι.Μ. Κωνσταμονίτου Μάϊος 2011
  • Ιερά Μονή Δοχειαρίου – The Holy Monastery of Docheiariou
  • Athon - Konstamonitou monastery
  • Athos - Ιερά Μονή Δοχειαρίου – The Holy Monastery of Docheiariou
  • Ιερά Μονή Δοχειαρίου – The Holy Monastery of Docheiariou