Funa (in Greek it means “smoky”) – the fortress situated on the rocky hill at the bottom of Demerdgi Mountain. Before, Demerdgi Mount was called Funa. The Fortress of Funa was mentioned for the first time in 1384, at that period the fortress was the outpost of Feodoro Kingdom and was of military importance. Near the fortress there was a trade rout in the Middle Ages, which led from Gorzuvit (Gurzuf) and Aluston (Alushta) to the steppe Crimea.
The church of St. Theodore Stratelates, which ruins can be seen even nowadays, has an important place in the architectural ensemble of Funa Fortress. Not far from the fortress ruins there is a boulder chaos – conglomeration of huge stone boulders. It is a result of a great landslide of 1894 and the following landslips. Later, Yalta earthquake of 1927 considerably spoiled the constructions.
The important place in an architectural ensemble of the Funsky fortress occupies church of the St. Feodora Stratilata ruins of which can be observed now. After destruction of a fortress of 1475 by Turks it was church which remained better. The church of St. Feodora Stratilata was repeatedly under repair and reconstruction, as a result the church remained to the beginning of the XX-th century.
Near from the ruins of a fortress is clumpy chaos – a heap of huge boulders and stones. It is result of a grandiose collapse of 1894 and the subsequent collapses. As a result of a collapse local residents have left territory. Subsequently the considerable loss to constructions was put by Yalta earthquake 1927.