Stanislav Herburt began building this high castle in 1566, but it would be his son Jan Schasnyi (Lucky) that would complete its construction. Jan was highly educated and talented and made a great contribution to the building of the town Dobromyl below his castle. He built the first school and typographical center in Dobromyl. But he developed a poor relationship with the local Catholic priests that resulted in him spending two years in the royal jail.
In the 18th century when the castle no longer had a defensive purpose, its last owner, Anna Byaloholovska, ordered the castle to be dismantled and used to build a local Basilian Monastery.