UNESCO World Heritage sites

A World Heritage Site is a place (such as a building, city, complex, desert, forest, island, lake, monument, or mountain) that is listed by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) as being of special cultural or physical significance. The list is maintained by the international World Heritage Programme administered by the UNESCO World Heritage Committee, composed of 21 UNESCO member states which are elected by the General Assembly.

  • 8

    Uvs Lake

    Uvs Lake is a highly saline lake in an endorheic basin - Uvs Nuur Basin in Mongolia with a small part in Russia. It is the largest lake in Mongolia by surface area, covering 3,350 km² at 759 m above sea level.

  • 10

    Valdes Peninsula

    The Valdes Peninsula is a peninsula on the Atlantic coast in the Viedma Department in the north east of Chubut Province, Argentina. Around 3,625 km2 in size, it is an important nature reserve which was listed as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1999.

  • 10

    Valle de Allende

    Valle de Allende is the municipal seat and largest city of the municipality of Allende in the Mexican state of Chihuahua. Originally named Valle de San Bartolome, it was founded in 1569 by Franciscan monks. The city is one of the oldest in Chihuahua.

  • 10

    Valley of Flowers National Park

    Valley of Flowers National Park is an Indian national park, located in West Himalaya, in the state of Uttarakhand and is known for its meadows of endemic alpine flowers and the variety of flora.

  • 10


    Valparaiso is a major city, seaport, and educational center in the county or commune of Valparaiso, Chile.

  • 10

    Van Nelle Factory

    The former Van Nelle Factory on the Schie river in Rotterdam, is considered a prime example of the International Style (Constructivism). It has been a designated World Heritage Site since 2014.

  • 5

    Varberg Radio Station

    The Varberg Radio Station at Grimeton is a VLF transmission facility at Grimeton close to Varberg, in Halland, Sweden. It has the only working Alexanderson alternator rotating armature radio transmitter in the world and is classified as a World Heritage Site.

  • 10

    Vasilyevsky Island

    Vasilyevsky Island is an island in St. Petersburg, Russia, bordered by the Bolshaya Neva and Malaya Neva Rivers in the south and northeast, and by the Gulf of Finland in the west. Vasilyevsky Island is separated from Dekabristov Island by the Smolenka River.

  • 8


    Vegaoyan or the Vega Archipelago, is a group of islands in the Norwegian Sea corresponding roughly to the municipality of Vega. Since 2004, it has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

  • 10


    Verla at Jaala, Kouvola, Finland, is a well preserved 19th century mill village and a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1996.

  • 10

    Victor Horta Museum

    The Horta Museum is a museum dedicated to the life and work of the Belgian Art Nouveau architect Victor Horta and his time. The museum is housed in Horta's former house and atelier, Maison & Atelier Horta (1898), in the Brussels municipality of Saint-Gilles.

  • 10


    Vigan, officially the City of Vigan is a fourth class city and capital of the province of Ilocos Sur in the Philippines. The city is located on the western coast of the large island of Luzon, facing the South China Sea.

  • 1

    Villa Rustica, Bingen am Rhein

    Villa rustica (countryside villa) was the term used by the ancient Romans to denote a villa set in the open countryside, often as the hub of a large agricultural estate (latifundium).

  • 5

    Villa Tugendhat

    Villa Tugendhat is a historical building in the wealthy neighbourhood of Cerna Pole in Brno, Czech Republic. It is one of the pioneering prototypes of modern architecture in Europe, and was designed by the German architect Ludwig Mies van der Rohe. Built of reinforced concrete between 1928 and 1930 for Fritz Tugendhat and his wife Greta, the villa soon became an icon of modernism.

  • 1

    Vindobala (Rudchester Roman Fort), Hadrian's Wall

    Vindobala was a Roman fort at the modern-day hamlet of Rudchester, Northumberland. It was the fourth fort on Hadrian's Wall, after Segedunum (Wallsend), Pons Aelius (Newcastle) and Condercum.

  • 10


    Visby is a locality and the seat of Gotland Municipality in Gotland County, on the island of Gotland, Sweden. The Hanseatic city of Visby is arguably the best-preserved medieval city in Scandinavia and since 1995, it is on the UNESCO World Heritage Site list

  • 7

    Visoki Decani

    The Visoki Decani monastery is located by the Decanska Bistrica river gorge at the foot of the Prokletije Mountains, in western Kosovo.

  • 10

    Vizcaya Bridge

    The Vizcaya Bridge, is a transporter bridge that links the towns of Portugalete and Las Arenas in the Biscay province of Spain, crossing the mouth of the Nervion River.

  • 10


    Vlkolinec, Slovakia, is a picturesque village under the administration of the town of Ruzomberok. Historically, however, it was a separate village. The first written mention of the village came from 1376 and after 1882 it became part of Ruzomberok. Its name is probably derived from the Slovak word "vlk", i. e. wolf.

  • 4

    Volklingen Ironworks

    The Volklingen Ironworks (German: Völklinger Hütte) is located in the German town of Volklingen, Saarland. In 1994, it was declared by UNESCO as a World Heritage site.

  • 8

    Volubilis (Archaeological Site of Volubilis)

    Volubilis is a partly excavated amazigh then Roman city in Morocco situated near Meknes between Fes and Rabat and commonly considered as the ancient capital of the kingdom of Mauritania.

  • 3

    Wachau Cultural Landscape

    The Wachau is an Austrian valley with a picturesque landscape formed by the Danube river. It is one of the most prominent tourist destinations of Lower Austria, located midway between the towns of Melk and Krems that also attracts "connoisseurs and epicureans" for its high-quality wines.

  • 10

    Wadden Sea

    The Wadden Sea is an intertidal zone in the southeastern part of the North Sea. It lies between the coast of northwestern continental Europe and the range of Frisian Islands, forming a shallow body of water with tidal flats and wetlands.

  • 10

    Wadi Al-Hitan (Whales Valley)

    Wadi Al-Hitan (Whales Valley) is a paleontological site in the Al Fayyum Governorate of Egypt, some 150 km southwest of Cairo. It was designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site in July 2005 for its hundreds of fossils of some of the earliest forms of whale, the archaeoceti (a now extinct sub-order of whales).

  • 5

    Wadi Dawkah Frankincense Park

    Wadi Dawkah is a major place where the frankincense tree can still be found and frankincense is harvested to this day.