Bolivia is synonymous of authentic Latin American culture, nestled in the midst of the Andes, the country is landlocked by other south American countries including Peru, Paraguay, Brazil, Argentina and Chile. Although Spanish is the official language, English is spoken by most officials and in commercial centers.

Bolivia can be divided into three main regions, the lowland tropics that stretch towards Brazil, where there is heavy rainfall throughout the year resulting in lush vegetation and exotic plants and fruits. The Altiplano a high plateau rising over 4000 above sea level where most of the Bolivian population resides, and the fertile valley, 1,800 meters above sea level that provides fertile land where most of the country’s produce is grown.

Trekking through Bolivia is an unforgettable experience, due to the breathtaking landscapes and diversified scenery it offers. Most treks start from the capital, La Paz or Sorata and can last three to six days according to the destination, Coroico being one of the most popular.

Jungle excursions are also a unique experience, one may explore either by motorized canoes or on jungle paths leading through luxuriant plant life with a chance to get a glimpse at the wildlife.

Another great excursion is up the Cordillera Real led by guides and mules or a tour of the Salar Uyuni the highest salt flats in the world.

The Lake Titicaca is probably one of the most renowned and extraordinary sites in Bolivia, as well as the highest navigable lake in the world. Scattered with islands, this enormous lake hosts dwellings made entirely from reeds that grow in the lake.

Bolivia offers a temperate climate that can vary considerably from day to night due to its elevated position. November to March is the rainy season and in the north east near the Andes the climate is semi tropical.

  • 10


    The fourth mission in the World Heritage Site, the mission of Concepcion, was initially founded in 1699 by the Jesuit priests Fr. Francisco Lucas Caballero and Fr. Francisco Hervas.

  • 10

    El Fuerte de Samaipata

    El Fuerte de Samaipata or Fort Samaipata, also known simply as "El Fuerte", is a Pre-Columbian archaeological site and UNESCO World Heritage Site located in Santa Cruz Department, Florida Province, Bolivia.

  • 10


    Potosi is a city and the capital of the department of Potosi in Bolivia. It is one of the highest cities in the world by elevation at a nominal 4,090 metres. For centuries, it was the location of the Spanish colonial mint.

  • 10

    San Jose de Chiquitos

    Founded in 1698 by the Jesuits Fr. Felipe Suarez and Fr. Dionosio Avila, the mission of San Jose de Chiquitos was the third mission built of those of the World Heritage Site.

  • 10

    San Miguel de Velasco

    The fifth mission in the World Heritage Site, that of San Miguel de Velasco, was established by the Jesuits Fr. Felipe Suarez and Fr. Francisco Hervás in 1721.

  • 10

    San Rafael de Velasco

    The mission of San Rafael de Velasco was the second mission built out of the six inscribed the World Heritage Site.

  • 10

    Santa Ana de Velasco

    The mission of Santa Ana de Velasco was the final World Heritage Site-inscribed mission to be established. It was founded by the Jesuit priest Fr. Julian Knogler in 1755. The original native inhabitants of the missions were the Covareca and Curuminaca tribes.

  • 10


    ucre is the constitutional capital of Bolivia, the capital of the Chuquisaca Department, and the 6th most populated city in Bolivia. Located in the south-central part of the country, Sucre lies at an elevation of 2,810 meters. This relative high altitude gives the city a cool temperate climate year-round and much thinner air.

  • 10


    Tiwanaku is a Pre-Columbian archaeological site in western Bolivia. The site was first recorded in written history by Spanish conquistador Pedro Cieza de Leon. He came upon the remains of Tiwanaku in 1549 while searching for the Inca capital Qullasuyu.