Santa Ana de Velasco

The mission of Santa Ana de Velasco was the final World Heritage Site-inscribed mission to be established. It was founded by the Jesuit priest Fr. Julian Knogler in 1755. The original native inhabitants of the missions were the Covareca and Curuminaca tribes. The mission church was designed after the expulsion of the Jesuits between 1770 and 1780 by an unknown architect and built entirely by the indigenous population. The complex, consisting of the church, bell tower, sacristy and a grassy plaza lined by houses, is considered to have the most fidelity to the original plan of the Jesuit reductions. Starting in 1989 and lasting until 2001, the mission underwent partial restoration through the efforts of Hans Roth and his team.

  • Igreja de Santa Ana
  • Santa Ana, iglesia
  • Santa Ana, iglesia y campanario
  • Santa Ana de Velasco
  • Santa Ana de Velasco
  • Santa Ana - la facciata
  • Altar Santa Ana 1755
  • Santa Ana - la casa del custode
  • Santa Ana


  • 10


    The fourth mission in the World Heritage Site, the mission of Concepcion, was initially founded in 1699 by the Jesuit priests Fr. Francisco Lucas Caballero and Fr. Francisco Hervas.

  • 10

    San Jose de Chiquitos

    Founded in 1698 by the Jesuits Fr. Felipe Suarez and Fr. Dionosio Avila, the mission of San Jose de Chiquitos was the third mission built of those of the World Heritage Site.

  • 10

    San Miguel de Velasco

    The fifth mission in the World Heritage Site, that of San Miguel de Velasco, was established by the Jesuits Fr. Felipe Suarez and Fr. Francisco Hervás in 1721.

  • 10

    San Rafael de Velasco

    The mission of San Rafael de Velasco was the second mission built out of the six inscribed the World Heritage Site.