The Fort north of Purmerend was constructed in order to defend the accesses that were formed by the Beemsterringdijk (dike) and the Purmerenderweg and Rijperweg roads in the Beemster Polder. Construction of the defendable earthwork was completed in 1895. The shellproof main building dates back to 1912. It is connected by covered walkways (posterns) to two buildings that are outfitted with a retractable turret.
Today, the Fort north of Purmerend is home to a wine importer. The fortress can be visited for a guided tour or during wine tasting events that are organized by Wijnimport Bart. The guided tours and wine tastings are by appointment.