The engineer depot and fort watchman’s house are what remains of the Fort near Kwadijk. The fortress is private property and not open to the public.
The function of the Fort near Kwadijk was to defend the accesses that were formed by the Amsterdam-Hoorn railroad and the Middelie-Axwijk road. Construction of the defendable earthwork with moat was completed in 1895, but work on the concrete fortress was abandoned with nothing but the foundations and part of the flooring put in place. The site did serve as practice grounds for Dutch troops, though, and during the 1916 floods in North Holland the earthwork was used to strengthen the dikes.